For background information on all speakers, moderators and panelists, please click the appropriate tab at the top of the page.

Tuesday, Aug. 8

8 a.m.: Registration opens.

10-10:15 a.m.:  Mayor Rebecca Casper: Welcome and introduction of keynote speaker.

10:15-11:15 a.m. Keynote speaker, Vaclav Smil: The coming painful transition from fossil fuels and its impact on western North America.

11:15 a.m.-12:15 p.m.: Future Energy Portfolios of the Intermountain and Pacific Northwest Regions: What will the future mix of energy supplies for the Western U.S. look like? How are utilities planning for the inevitable shifts in energy sources? Moderator: Jim Ogsbury, Western Governors Association. Panelists: Dan James, Bonneville Power Administration; Cindy Crane, Rocky Mountain Power; Doug Hunter, UAMPS.

12:15-12:30 p.m. Break.

12:30-1:30 p.m.: Lunch. Partnership for Science and Technology Awards.

1:30-1:45 p.m.: Bloomberg’s New Energy Outlook for 2017. Rob Glen, Bloomberg New Energy Finance.

1:45-3:15 p.m.: Nuclear Energy Re-imagined: Innovation in applications. Panelists look at emerging unique applications for nuclear energy. Moderator: Michael Hagood, Idaho National Laboratory. Panelists: Robin Rickman, Terrestrial Energy; Mark Peres, Fluor; Dr. Ashley Finan, Nuclear Innovation Alliance; Dr. Richard Boardman, Idaho National Laboratory.

3:15-3:30 p.m.: Break.

3:30-5 p.m.: Breakout sessions.

Breakout No. 1: Nuclear Power and the Western U.S.: Developing Regional Innovative Supply Chain Opportunities. How can regional businesses connect to energy companies as vital links in the chain to supply essential products and services? Moderator: Peggy Davis, Fluor Idaho. Panelists: Mark Peters, Idaho National Laboratory; Douglas Sayer, Premier Technology; Greg Field, TerraPower.

Breakout No. 2: New Approaches to Regional Coal Development. From the development of the Wyoming Integrated Test Center to competition for the Carbon XPrize, panelists look at emerging uses for coal. Moderator: Dr. Mark A. Northam, University of Wyoming. Panelists: Ken Miller, Wyoming Infrastructure Board, and Richard A. Horner, University of Wyoming.

5-7 p.m.: Welcome reception.

6-8 p.m.: Speakers and Sponsors Dinner (invitation only)

Wednesday, Aug. 9

7 a.m.: Registration opens.

8-8:30 a.m. Breakfast service.

8:30 a.m.: Welcome to day two by Mayor Casper.

8:40-9:30 a.m.: Day two featured speaker: Ambassador Laura Holgate, Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs. Virtuous circles: Linking business and nuclear security. Introduced by Dr. Noël Bakhtian, Director, Center for Advanced Energy Studies.

9:30-9:45 a.m.: Break.

9:45 a.m.-10:15 a.m.: Rep. Mike Simpson, Chairman of the House Appropriations Subcommittee for Water and Energy. Introduced by Fred Hughes, President, Fluor Idaho.

10:15-10:35 a.m.: Rick Provencher, Manager, Department of Energy, Idaho Operations. Introduced by Mark Peters, Director, Idaho National Laboratory.

10:35-11:50 a.m.:  U.S. Nuclear Policy Leadership in the Trump Era. What do panelists foresee in America’s place in world nuclear policy under the new administration? Moderator: John Kotek, Nuclear Energy Institute. Panelists: Sagatom Saha, Council on Foreign Relations; Chris Colbert, NuScale Power; Ambassador Laura Holgate, Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs.

Noon: Lunch service. Speakers: Dr. Robert Schleicher, General Atomics; and Dr. Ashley Finan, Nuclear Innovation Alliance. The urgency to re-invent nuclear power in the U.S. Introduced by Mark Peters, Director, Idaho National Laboratory.

1-1:15 p.m.: Break.

1:15-2:30 p.m.: Solar, wind and EV: Energy security requires using all the tools available to us in creating a reduced-carbon future. Moderator: Doug Hunter, UAMPS. Panelists: Cindy Crane, Rocky Mountain Power; Dr. Scott McWhorter, Savannah River National Laboratory; Manish Mohanpurkar, Idaho National Laboratory.

2:30-3:30 p.m.: Energy Security and the Electrical Grid. Is the Western U.S. electrical grid vulnerable and, if so, what can be done? Moderator: Jackie Flowers, Idaho Falls Power. Panelists: Zachary Tudor, Idaho National Laboratory; Brent Ridge, Energy Northwest; Eric Woodruff, Western Electricity Coordinating Council.