The regular registration fee of $189 ends July 31.

Aug. 8-9, 2017

Idaho Falls, Idaho

Shilo Inn & Suites and Keefer’s Island Conference Center


Featuring keynote speaker

Vaclav Smil

 “There is no author whose books I look forward to more than Vaclav Smil.” — Bill Gates

Professor Vaclav Smil is regarded as one of the most important thought leaders of our time. One of Foreign Policy’s Top 100 Global Thinkers of 2010, Smil has spent his career exploring new ground in the fields of energy, environmental and population change, food production and nutrition, technical innovation, risk assessment and public policy. Publishing 35 books and over 400 papers, Smil has revolutionized the way the world thinks about its future energy and food needs. In addition to his published research, he has also worked as a consultant for many US, EU and international institutions.

“Today, as you know, everything is ‘innovation.’ We have problems, and people are looking for fairy-tale solutions—innovation like manna from heaven falling on the Israelites and saving them from the desert. It’s like, ‘Let’s not reform the education system, the tax system. Let’s not improve our dysfunctional government. Just wait for this innovation manna from a little group of people in Silicon Valley …’ ” — Vaclav Smil


Rep. Mike Simpson, Chairman, House Appropriations Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development

Michael (Mike) K. Simpson is serving his tenth term in the House of Representatives for Idaho’s Second Congressional District.

Mike serves on the House Appropriations Committee. He is the Chairman for the Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development. He also serves on the Interior and Environment Subcommittee and the Labor, Health and Human Services, and Education, and Related Agencies Subcommittee. These committees have jurisdiction over funding for a number of programs critical to Idaho, including the Department of Energy, the Department of the Interior, the Forest Service, our National Parks, the National Endowment for the Arts, and Smithsonian Institute.

Dr. Ashley Finan, Policy Director, Nuclear Innovation Alliance

Ashley Finan serves as Project Director for Advanced Energy Systems at Clean Air Task Force. In that role she manages CATF’s advanced nuclear energy project, coordinates studies on energy innovation policy and on advanced energy technologies. She works with the CATF team to develop and implement strategies that facilitate the commercialization of promising energy technologies.

Dr. Mark A. Northam, Director, School of Energy Resources, University of Wyoming

Mark A. Northam is the founding Director of the School of Energy Resources at the University of Wyoming. He came to the university after a year and a half with Saudi Aramco in Dhahran, Saudi Arabia where he worked as a Research Science Consultant in the areas of Carbon Management and Technical Intelligence at the Research and Development Center. Prior to joining Saudi Aramco, Mark worked for over twenty years at Mobil and ExxonMobil, holding a variety of research, operations, and management positions in the US and Europe.

 Dr. Robert Schleicher, Chief Nuclear Engineer, General Atomics

Dr. Schleicher is a Chief Nuclear Engineer at General Atomics, where he has been an employee for over 40 years. During this time, he has been a contributor and innovator in the fields of nuclear fission, magnetic and inertial fusion and high energy lasers. At present, he is the co-inventor and technical leader for the EM2 nuclear reactor, an advanced helium-cooled, convert and burn reactor.

Laura S. Holgate. Senior Fellow, Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs

Ambassador Laura S.H. Holgate served as U.S. Representative to the Vienna Office of the United Nations and the International Atomic Energy Agency from July 11, 2016 to January 20, 2017. The United States Mission to International Organizations in Vienna works with seven major organizations of the United Nations system based in Vienna: the International Atomic Energy Agency; the UN Office on Drugs and Crime; the Preparatory Commission of the Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty Organization; the UN Office of Outer Space Affairs; the Wassenaar Arrangement; the UN Commission on International Trade Law; and the UN Industrial Development Organization.

Presented by:

Fluor logo 


Idaho National Laboratory

Produced by:

apg-events-300x167  and  

APG/Events is a multi-media news and advertising company and is a member of the Professional Conference Managers Association.